Apple Tree Parenting

My daughter is trying me  tonight. How does one goes from being a sweet 8 year old to a spoiled disrespectful brat in just 30 minutes. I don’t know where the problems lie, but i DO know I try my best. Come to think of it – I was the same way when I was her age. Genes are a mother effer. However, i thank God for the my resolve to think somewhat clearly about the matter. Despite my anger – because that is a problem too. How do I know too much discipline is too much? I withhold all her privileges such as TV, shopping, treats etc. Very rarely do I raise corporal punishment. Then I must question – is it out of anger I do this? Or what is in the best interest of my child? No doubt the answer depends on the personality of the child. See, I have a smart one. An intellectual one. Trying to talk her way out of things (and into things) just as I did. I have to remember to thank my Mom and Dad for sparing my life and just putting up with my bullshit. I am a hot mess sometimes and I know it.

But when did this become about me? Oh, yes. The apple does not fall far from the tree.

This entry was published on August 29, 2012 at 11:53 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

